Association of Surgical Technologists

Florida State Assembly

Association of Surgical Technologists
Association of Surgical Technologists

Legislative Overview

AST advocates to pass state laws that, in order to be hired to practice surgical technology, the candidate must:

(1) graduate from a CAAHEP-accredited surgical technology program;

(2) obtain the Certified Surgical Technologist (CST®) credential from the National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting (NBSTSA); and

(3) maintain the CST® credential by completing mandatory continuing education (CE) hours.

These requirements would apply to new-hires employed on or after the effective date of the law. Federal employees are exempt from the state law.


NOTE: When a state passes this law, nothing in the law prevents an employer from requiring all of its surgical technologist employees (not just new-hires) to meet the full requirements of the law regardless of whether the employee fits into the “grandfathered” or “military” exceptions.


State Law Overview


The following states have passed laws related to the education and certification of surgical technologists. For more information, click on the Map of State Laws (members only):


The following states require surgical technologists to register in order to work in the state:


  • Colorado (2016) (CST not required for registration)
  • North Dakota (2011) (“Unlicensed Assistive Person” registry; CST not required for registration)
  • Washington (2010) (CST not required for registration)


The following states offer optional registration/title protection for surgical technologists:


  • Arkansas (2017) (Must be a CST in order to qualify for the registry/title protection)
  • Illinois (2004) (Must be a CST in order to qualify for the registry/title protection)